Eight Contenders Make Round One – Tory Leadership Race

Rishi Sunak makes the first round of leadership race

The results of the first round of the Tory Leadership battle to takeover from Boris Johnson. Each contender had to have endorsements from 20 Conservative MPs. The result is out and here are the eight contenders that got through:

  1. Rishi Sunak
  2. Kemi Badenoch
  3. Penny Mordaunt
  4. Jeremy Hunt
  5. Nadhim Zahawi
  6. Suella Braverman
  7. Liz Truss
  8. Tom Tugendhat

Sajid Javid, the former Health Secretary and Transport Secretary Grant Shapps abandoned their respective bid for failing to attract enough endorsements.

Rishi Sunak has had a lot of criticism from the Prime Minister’s supporters as they believe that he actually stitched him up triggering an onslaught of cabinet ministers resigning last week leading to Boris Johnson’s resignation.

Boris Johnson’s loyalist are throwing in their support for Liz Truss and she secured the endorsements of senior Tory MPs like Jacob Rees-Mogg, Nadine Dorries and James Cleverly.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.