Hart shines at UK Comedy Awards


Miranda Hart capped a superb night at the British Comedy Awards by being named Queen of Comedy

TV viewers crowned Miranda Hart the Queen of Comedy in a public vote.

She picked up three accolades at the British Comedy Awards at a ceremony at the O2 in Greenwich, south-east London, scooping Best New TV Comedy Show, Best Female Comedy Actress and the People’s Choice Award – chosen by viewers.

She said she was “genuinely thrilled” by her success and hinted that her show, which ran on BBC2, might be moving channels.

She said: “I heard BBC1 are interested and that is very nice to know that they think there might be an audience.”

The show, broadcast live on Channel 4, opened with a flurry of gags from host Jonathan Ross. He took aim at fellow comics and celebrities, branding Eamonn Holmes an “elephant in the room” and describing Simon Amstell’s acting as “so wooden Ray Mears tried to make a canoe out of him”.

There was an Outstanding Contribution To Comedy award for Russell Brand. The controversial comic recorded a video message for the ceremony explaining he was unable to attend because a friend was “really ill”.

The first award, for Best Male TV Comic, went to Michael McIntyre. Next up was Best Comedy Panel Show which was won by Would I Lie To You. Accepting the award, one of the stars of the BBC1 show Lee Mack joked: “We’d just like to thank the creators of Call My Bluff for not suing us.”

Hollywood veteran Goldie Hawn handed out the award for Best TV Comedy Actor to the star of The Thick Of It Peter Capaldi. The Scottish actor, who plays foul-mouthed spin doctor Malcolm Tucker, said he had got used to the public mistaking him for his famously short-tempered character. He said: “People often ask me to tell them to f*** off, so I do”.

Peep Show stars David Mitchell and Robert Webb gave the Writers’ Guild of Great Britain Award to its writers Sam Bain and Jesse Armstrong.

Jo Brand won the Best Female TV Comic award, while teen comedy The Inbetweeners won Best Sitcom. Meanwhile the British Comedy Lifetime Achievement Award went to Roy Clarke, the writer of numerous hit shows including Last of the Summer Wine and Open All Hours, and Jo Brand won the Best Female TV Comic award.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.